My Steel Magnolias

Steel Magnolias. Thirty minutes into the film and I was still trying to figure out what exactly the main story was. You see, ‘black movies’ kinda have a template flow and I guess I was looking for that … till, of course, I got so wrapped up in the story I forgot to watch it with a raised eyebrow and the antagonistic ‘mhmm’.

I can’t remember the last movie I watched that made me cry and  a split second later made me laugh. Yes, go out and get it right now if you haven’t yet watched it.

So what exactly is the movie about? Its about love and friendship. Its about living to the fullest, even if that has a cost and about having true friends who are not just there for the parties and the weddings but friends who’ll stand there and listen to your angry, mournful tirade that has no logical flow. Friends that will not try to look for words that seem appropriate but will do the craziest thing just to make you smile.

I thank God that I have such friends. Friends that’ll take one look at me and know I’m not alright. Friends that will say the most outrageous things and God only knows why I still stand there and listen. My friends accept my crazy, and even days like today when I go all Ice princess on everyone, they still stand by me.

You’ll kill me, I know, but at least I have a day to live.

Jane, for your impartiality when everyone doesn’t agree with me,
Sheila, for your sunshiny personality and frankness,
Sopi for your laughter,
Rita for your straightforwardness and smile,
Tasha for your randomness which is (sorta, kinda, 2nd cousin thrice removed) kin to my randomness.

You know you’re my girls ;). I don’t say it enough but I really do love and appreciate you guys.

And that’s enough mush for the month…. or year …. lets just see how things go.        

7 thoughts on “My Steel Magnolias

  1. Annette says:

    Shirley mclaine, Dolly Parton, Julia Roberts! triple steel magnolias!

  2. Sopi says:

    We can think of killing you later but for now….Awwwwww* N we love you right back Mwende! Always*

  3. Rita says:

    Ahem! and am always under ‘shadows of death’ coz of that chatacter.Sheila would be first to kill me,Lol! Nguti that’s soooo sweet…I love it! N’ Yes, true friends always see your true feelings even when u try to fool everybody so Mwende be careful 😛 LOVE you too ryt back. nothing
    more to be prized than true
    friendship. love you all girls. cheerz! 🙂

  4. sheila says:

    Awwww,so sweet!and we love you back:-)

  5. agwatakwamby says:

    this is soo owesome. to great timeless friendships

  6. jyokiviyella says:

    I did not even know there was an original movie,that gives me home work i guess.But on the real,i really enjoyed that movie too,it made me cry,it made me feel thankful for my life and for the friends in it!
    awesome read

Leave a Reply

