The Reckoning *cue dramatic music*

image

*Ding dong *
“Oh! Hi September!! How are you? Wow, I love that dress on you! Come on in. I’m sorry about the mess, I’ve been doing some cleaning. ”
” Some tea? Oh! You don’t take tea? How about some fresh squeezed lemonade? Ok, I’ll just be a second.”
“Here you go.”
” I don’t know why it feels like just yesterday that I saw you instead of a year ago. Anyway, I hope you’ve been well? ”
“That’s wonderful.”
“How’ve I been doing? Well, I guess its been a good year.”
” I haven’t changed too much, if that’s what you’re afraid of. In fact, I feel a little more…me. When we last met, I had all these expectations with starting a whole new chapter in my life.”
“No, most of them weren’t met. But I wasn’t as disappointed as you would think I would be.”
“It was ..nothing like I expected it to be. Life became a whole new game with different rules and a complete change in cast. But I loved it. Not all the time, of course, but I loved it.”
“What did I love most,you ask? Well, I got to move in with my sister in Nairobi, which was a study in patience and maturity. Neither of us are dead yet so you could say we aced that test.”
” I started law school, which I was sure would be a drag but turned out to be not so bad. If I would have done what I thought was the perfect course, I may not have been challenged as I’ve been this last year, in a good way. ”
“What else? Let’s see … uhm, I got to make the most amazing friends. The first weeks in school are kinda rough because everyone doesn’t really know each other, except for that 1 or 2 people. So, people start conversations over the darnedest of things like cutting in line during registration ( I met so many people that day) or missing what the lecturer just said and whispering ‘ati amesema?’ to anyone within earshot or that girl who always comes late in her high-heeled glory and insists on taking the long, long walk to a seat at the front of the class or simply keeping in step with people who seem to be going in the same direction as you are. In the end, I couldn’t have asked for better folks”
” Sorry, September, no raving for me. I know that’s what everyone who’s my age seems to be doing but that’s not how this cookie crumbles. I did get to taste wine, though. It was hideous! Apparently, I’m allergic to red ” 

“What? Love? Well… September, I cannot say there has been any development in that front although… let’s just say that everything comes at its time.”
“I’m not hiding anything, I promise.”
“Seriously! ”
“If there is, you’ll be the first to know .. maybe second … probably third. But in the end, you’ll know!! I’m 19, I still have a way to go before I should start getting worried”
“20!! 19’s over, isn’t it? I can’t believe it. ”
 
How times flies by…

7 thoughts on “The Reckoning *cue dramatic music*

  1. Olive says:

    not 20 yet my dear still some days to go.. n on the rave part nope not everyone ur age is doin that so don worry ur not the black sheep 🙂

  2. It’s about 19 days to go so it’s easily rounded up.
    Nope, not everyone, but we are the extreme minority. ( isn’t that awesome?!?!? 🙂 )

  3. chepngetich says:

    Love this piece…forgot one thing I thot i’d read about..a crush??maybe?!…#good one!

  4. weru bryan says:

    i love it

  5. V says:

    …lol…i see old people!!! :)…

    you know what sucks..there won’t be a joint bash..ebu come these sides we make it happen…
    *teleport, 0n the 22nd..we go “rave” at some place*

  6. agwatakwamby says:

    hehehehe, this is by far ure best comic , hey march . niceee

  7. agwatakwamby says:

    Reblogged this on agwatakwamby and commented:
    i love love love it

Leave a Reply

