Why Do I Love You?

image

I do not love you for the words you say,
even when you say them in that special way.
I do not love you for the things you do,
the little things that would melt a girl’s heart to goo.

I do not love you for the clothes you wear,
nor for how much the ladies jealously stare.
I do not love you, I do not.
If that is to love, then on thee I do not dot.

For words shall lay forgotten in the folds of human nature,
Acts shall remain undone in the comfort of all that’s routine and mediocre,
The clothes on your back will be eaten through by the moth.
Will I then stop loving you when they all come to their inevitable death?  

But because I love you, I will listen to the words you speak,
I will appreciate all you will do.

I will love you in your hideous shorts and I will love you in your sharpest suit. 
I will love you in the summer,
I will love you through the winter,
I will love you as I laugh
I will love you as I cry.
I will love you when I  feel like I  love you, and when I feel like I don’t.
I will love you when you make me happy and when you break my heart.

Why? Why do I love you?
Because I am the moon to your sun; you make me more than a rock in the sky.

Inspired by Paulo Neruda’s I do not love you except because I love you.

7 thoughts on “Why Do I Love You?

  1. lorra says:

    lovely!! emphasizes the belief that you like someone because of their strengths and values,but you love them for their weaknesses

  2. agwatakwamby says:

    i love you , because i love u even wen i hate you

  3. Samuel Nguma says:

    This is the sort of poem Jesus would have recited moments before His death; to the thief crucified to His left!!!

  4. Sopi says:

    am still wondering unafanya nini law class…hehe..! well put my dear))

  5. Odhiambo says:

    I love u … and other letters too 🙂
    My love i bestow on you
    Not that your strong to handle
    But that i’m weak….

    Nice poem, Mwende!

Leave a Reply

