The Empress’s New Threads

image

A woman is always shopping. There’s no one time that she can say she’s not looking at or for anything.  We look at window displays and wonder if that pair of shoes would match that dress in the wardrobe. We look at her jacket and note that we need one for ourselves. It doesn’t matter if the purse is bulging at the seams or straining at the weight of the coins you collected from under your couch cushions at the end of the month.

My daily route to school requires me to pass by Westlands and being a window -girl, my nose is always pressed against the glass. Its not that I’m searching for anything in particular but I think clearest when staring out of a window than when on an aisle seat.

So last week, one of those yummy dresses they hang in westie got my attention. It was orange with yellow detailing. Strapless. Short. It would be the perfect Sundress to have, I thought. With a straw hat and strappy sandles …  I had to have it!
  
I kept putting it off and after almost a week of drooling over it in a passing matatu,  it was time for the moment of truth.
Those dresses in Westie always look amazing when seen from a far but its when you get close and the ‘magic pegs’ at the back that give the dress a lovely shape come off that you can truly judge it. More importantly, the fit of the dress on you.  You know, *picking imaginary lint off me* not all of us are human hangers #models#. So how it looks on a particular woman’s body makes all the difference in the world.

IT FIT PERFECTLY! Then I started doubting. Was I sure I couldn’t get anything better? It couldn’t be that easy, could it?! Then I remembered that the last time I had acted out of my doubts and left a lovely dress.  I spent the whole night regretting it and the next day, I arrived just in time to see it being carried off by its proud new owner. I had that dramatic moment where I went down on my knees and screamed ‘Noooooooooo’ to the sky. In my head.

The Empress *me* has new clothes. The best part of it? *whispers* You can see them!

Completely unrelated, at the beginning of the year I told a friend of mine that this year I was getting serious about my writing. Finally got around to it these last two weeks. Im doing it offline but I may get around to posting them here. Writing for no other reason than to write frees the mind, is what I’m learning.

3 thoughts on “The Empress’s New Threads

  1. V says:

    …this kao coloured dresses…lol…

  2. Samuel Nguma says:

    Writing no other reason than to write frees the mind- that couldn’t be put any better! (Just a little addition though; when you write; you get to know yourself better!)

Leave a Reply

