Dead Air

image

Its that time in the semester to blow the dust off neglected books and to try to decipher the hostile handwriting that is your own. If you throw a stone in school, chances are it’ll land on someones head but they’ll barely glance up from the book they have their nose stuck in. That’s right, folks! It’s Exam Season!!

I’m on a break so I decided to pop up here for a little catharsis.

Its rare for me to find a quiet moment. In this day,why would anyone want one? I come home and the first thing I do is to put on the radio or the television. Sometimes,both. In a mat or a bus or when I’m walking the streets, my earphones are blaring. I get to school and my friends are there and we talk about nothing and everything at the same time. In class, I’m trying to digest the legal doctrines constantly being flung in my direction. Some hit. Some miss.

I can’t remember the last time I made a conscious decision to just sit in silence. The only times I find myself sitting in darkness is when kplc carries  on its evil vendetta on we, the poor elec-dependents.
I’ve forgotten the sound of my own thoughts.  Or maybe I’m avoiding it: drowning it under the sound of all the other voices.

Could it be that I’m too scared to discover what I really feel and think? I guess in my own way I’m on the run. From what? That’s completely beyond me.
Actually,no.
That’s a lie.
I just don’t want to think about it.

Back to the books.

5 thoughts on “Dead Air

  1. vale says:

    wishing you all the best in your exams.
    love you mum

  2. V says:

    silence is so blaring…it tells you the truth that you were drowning in all the noise :/

  3. Samuel Nguma says:

    There is something about silence that is so disturbing; or there is something in us that makes silence disturbing…

Leave a Reply

