The Words I Would Say

image

My Dearest Amelia,

You’re reading this so you’re  sixteen today. (If this is not your sixteenth birthday, tell Aunt Jessica that I’m going to kill her when I see her). Happy Birthday, darling! You’re father can be a little clueless as to the workings of a female mind but with Aunt Jessie, they ought to have scrapped up a decent party.

Laying here on this bed, it’s difficult to accept that I never get to see you grow up. The doctors say I have about 24 hours. They said that there were complications with the birth and there’s nothing they can do. They told me not to get pregnant in the first place but that was never an option. ( your stubborn streak? You get that from me). It drove your father crazy! But it was something I had to do. A few hours is all I get, but given the chance, I wouldn’t change a thing.

You are such a beautiful baby. Loud, but beautiful. It pains me that I will never get to help you with your homework, or even help you throught your first heartbreak.

Believe me, heartache will come, no doubt about it, but even when it hurts so much that, remember to smile through it. It won’t be the end. There’s a wonderful guy out there who you are perfect for. You can’t change a person to be what you want them to be, but love them for who they are. You’re dad was just that for me. Do me a favour? Go easy on him. ( you know what I mean). He’s trying the best he can.

Promise me you’ll be happy. Live a full life. Never be afraid to take chances. It doesn’t matter what you do, just do it with all you’ve got. Trust in God through it all. Even when it seems that all is lost, he always has a trump card to change the game. You’re my trump card.

Forgive me for not being there. I love you, baby. Now, forever and always. In this letter is a locket. My mother gave me that locket when I was sixteen. She told me that locked inside was all the love I could ever need. If you open it, you’ll see us, you and me, today.The happiest girls this phase of the moon. God’s got an eye out for you, kid, as do I. I’m sorry for the smudges but I tried not to get all emotional. I really did! ( so much for that).

Love,
Mum.  

4 thoughts on “The Words I Would Say

  1. weirduh says:

    Waaaaah!!
    No comment… Really….
    But am jus wndrin happily…words I would say, sidewalk prophets? Xing my fingers hpin thez a cnection…
    Great post!

  2. Samuel Nguma says:

    Sidewalk prophets? Really? I’ve got an album or two of them- but I’ve never gotten the courage to listen to them! I wonder if fathers have the bond that mothers have with their beloved children! I’ll probably know one day…

Leave a Reply

