The Naked Truth

You may think you know what this post is about but think again. My friends know that I suck at telling the truth, leave alone giving a straight answer to a personal question. I tend to remain mum but today, why not open the blinds? At least for the next 5 minutes (or less) in which you will be seeing into the deep, deep, DEEP crevices of my soul.

Shall we begin? If you will just follow me…

We all have deal breakers.
“He’s not tall enough “
“He’s too tall”
“He’s not rich”
“He doesn’t have a car”
“He comes from the wrong side of town”
“I don’t like his nails”
I confess, the last one does it for me! Plus I have to see toenails… but that’s just me.

I, on the other hand, have deal formers. I pretty much make my decision of whether I like you or could ever like you within the first 2 minutes of meeting.
Everyone has a list. It’s just that mine is a little different.

1. Conversation
I could write a poem on just the concept of conversation ( and I probably will). The ability to carry out a conversation that would appeal to me … is one that I am yet to discover. A sprinkling of British wit and a philosopher’s heart. Is that too much to ask for?
Of course, there are those who simply over do it and come across as false and pretentious . On the other side, there are conversations that can only be termed as bland.
(In case you were wondering, yes! I am that girl who has a smile plastered to her face each time Hugh Grant opens his mouth).
Also, a person who is frank about their faith. Sometimes it’s easy to feel alone in Christianity. But all it takes is that one friend who you can sit down with and talk about what you really feel. And most of the time, there is a clarity that comes with it.

2. What’s on your music player?

( expect a poem on this one too ) Music has been part of my life for as long as I can remember. I have also come to learn that it tells a lot about a person. I prefer someone with their own genre of preference rather than one who jumps from one ship to another based  on what seems to be popular.
In my opinion, music says what we can’t seem to say sometimes. It shows where a person stands, in opinion or simply in life. Music is a soul speaking to another, and the ability to comprehend that language just goes to show what language you speak.
   
I said five minutes and a girl needs to play some of her cards close to her chest. So, allow me to hide behind a robe of silence as I try to salvage my modesty. What’s left of it anyway.

( I can imagine a therapist would have a field day just picking at how my brain is wired )   

3 thoughts on “The Naked Truth

  1. V says:

    …they need to be crazy but still level-headed….:)

  2. Samuel Nguma says:

    Can I just make a wish? I wish every girl had a list like this! (And plus; I hope to make mine soon!)

  3. Samuel Nguma says:

    Can I just make a wish? I wish every girl had a list like this! (And plus; I hope to make mine soon!)

    And about the conversation thing; I totally agree… Relationships are about conversation- being able to be heard and to be understood- and being able to listen and understand-

    The one whom we’ll realize we can talk to for the rest of our lives; that one; and there is usually just one; that one is the one!

Leave a Reply

