Today without you

I race after you through the corridors of my dreams.
My days are forgotten as soon as I lay my head on my pillow, my eyes closing out the world.
At first, darkness is all I see.
Then I see you’re face.
And I say all the things I should have said when I could.
I draw you to myself and I hold you there, memorizing the feel of you, the smell of you.
I never let you go, afraid I’ll miss out again on a life with you.
And I’m happy.
I am so so happy to have you with me… and it’s like you never left… and it’s like I never cried …and it’s like I have a second chance… and it’s like life is complete.

I hear the bell in the distance and your hand grows cold in mine.
It rings again and your grip loosens.
It rings again.
‘Please don’t leave me,’ I cry.
I hold your hand in a vice grip.
The bell rings but it doesn’t stop and with each passing second you fade, fade, fade away.
I open my eyes, squinting against the light. I switch off the alarm clock.
Another empty day without you.
I miss you.

2 thoughts on “Today without you

  1. Samuel Nguma says:

    That is a good one… That is a good one… Oh yeah, that is a good one…

Leave a Reply

