My reason to dance this month

IT’S SEPTEMBER!! I love September!  Not just because it’s my birthday month…..ok, because it’s my birthday month. *yay* Especially this year; the first time in 12 years that I won’t be in school on the D-day.( it’s actually 3 days to when I am expected to report to school) My year begins in September. ( January is just not to my taste, you see). It’s when I do my recap of the past year. Throughout the whole month, I do things I wouldn’t normally do, just because… you know… that pair of shoes I have been longing to get, those earrings that i hadn’t exactly planned on buying….but I have the cash so..It’s also a time to thank God, to realize that anything could have gone wrong, but it didn’t.

I thank God that He was with me through the times when it seemed the morning would never come. I Thank God for new friends and old, for awesome opportunities, those that I utilized and those I missed. I thank God that this time last year, I was a nervous candidate and now I have Him to thank for all I am today, waiting to go to school before the end of this month. I thank God for the joy and laughter of 18. I thank God for the sorrow and tears that I have felt. I thank God for the strength to let go and the strength to allow myself to feel the pain. That has been the greatest lesson of 18! I wonder what 19 will be like. I can’t wait to find out!! 🙂

On that note, I want to do something I don’t normally do. Save for last year, my birthday usually passes quietly, save for those few people who remember.  It’s always been a time for self reflection. You may say boring, but I say sobering. Last year, my fellow music students (bless their souls) got Eric Wainaina to call me on stage and wish me a happy birthday during the Classical Fusion. Unfortunately, I had just been pickpocketed and was in no mood to party. Boo hoo. Anyway, this year, I want to share my day. I don’t have formal plans as such so I am open to suggestions!

The grave irony of my last post of which I had asked for advice from you, dear reader, is that it stands completely unresponded to. 😥 . Just so you know, the whole ‘mess’ is sorted.

4 thoughts on “My reason to dance this month

  1. V says:

    I tried to comment on your last post…I even copy-pasted to post on ur fb…bt I guess ilinikataa ilinikataa….*sigh*…here’s my suggestion…next time your pick pocketed just go on stage, have fun!!!
    …we’ll get depressed later!

  2. savvykenya says:

    Sorry dear for commenting late. Happy belated birthday! (Not sure if it has passed or not, it’s still September!) Enjoy your last year of teenage-hood!

  3. @ V, :/.
    @ savvy. you are actually two days early! thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

