somewhere on the road between high school and uni…

 

Tomorrow, I clock  a month at my first job tomorrow …*crickets* . I know right?! Okay, I know how the job situation in Kenya is grim and all and I probably am pretty lucky to even have one buuuuut …….I want to quit. ( already had this conversation with Daddy dearest and just incase you’re wondering, I have been BANNED from it) Apparently, once you go corporate, there ain’t no turning from it.So am stuck in an office until September when I am free to get a University education…

If you had asked me in high school how long I thought I would last in Mombasa, I would have said one month.Tops. ….to answer your questions 1. yes, I have lived in Mombasa pretty much my whole life  2. There is a zero to nil chance of my parents letting me move in with my sisters in nai ‘just because’ ##sigh##.. well, I have been here a record SIX MONTHS and am yet to go crazy *weird*. The last time I spent this much time home, I was 11, no joke. (I insisted on going to boarding school……FOR REAL!! My sisters went without a say and lets just say my stories were no longer the headline at the dinner table…I wasn’t happy about that and thus begun my campaign. I WON ;))

I have come to terms with the coastal weather…I forgive her. In Coast, it’s all about knowing when to go out and when not to ##as well as the coolest internet cafe##and I do mean it literally. Look for cafe that has a fully functioning air conditioning system….but in the event you do find yourself melting under the vicious sun, you will find a sympathizer…at least i did. Just the fact that someone on the other side of the fence noted my plight and cared to give a “pole kwa jua” literally amused me to the point that the sun seemed to ease up on the degrees.

I took this job to be able to decide whether or not law is something Iwant to pursue. I  can live with it. It is actually as a result of being plotless at  work that I started blogging. One month down the line and I have opted to take up law whole-heartedly(read ‘without my dad paying me’). The cases can be interesting (as long as it’s not a land issue, which most of them are) and the pay is not that bad. Apart from all the legal details I have also learnt              (a) The Perfect Poker-face . . . do you know hard it is to look like you know what you’re doing while in earnest , you have no clue whatsoever?! I didn’t!! Then of course there is the tincy-wincy  fact that I am rather young. Despite my age, I expect to be treated with as much respect as any other person who is older. That is obviously not always the case, especially with some two gentlemen who have grown into the habit of calling me MUM (grrrrrrrrr…i bite!..no i don’t).

(b) I abhor smokers, or rather, the smell of cigarette smoke on them . . .it makes me nauseous. Why do people smoke anyway?!Its gross, it makes your fingers and TEETH turn color and you always smell the same!!!!  P.S, the juicy fruit makes you even the more unbearable.

(c) When people call in and have such a thorough accent and I am positively sure I am being pranked because there is no absolutely noooo way that someone actually talks like that, it’s usually for real 😉

(d) Hustling at the lunch line happens everywhere. . . but  at least in school there was some semblance of order. So high schoolers, take heart! Even guys at the A.G’s office hustle for chakula…

I don’t know what I’ll be doing for the next few months cause now everything is sooo routine. Thank God I discovered a neat little charming bookshop near the offices. ###i love books###  tv is kind of losing its grip on me… (mum is loving it cause she gets to watch her football uninterrupted).

Something will come up……..i hope…..

7 thoughts on “somewhere on the road between high school and uni…

  1. V says:

    I still don’t believe your mum is a sports fanatic…nhu…
    1. I knw…w@z up with smokers…it doesn’t taste nice…plus your lungs are on fire…i gave up the argument while trying to make people quit…now that you’re a LAWYER!!!..you’ll find that everyone you meet will be a smoker esp in the co-operate world..been there and i think i need to get my lung checked for lung-smoke related diseases!!!

    2. You have no idea how happy i am you’re doing law..lets just hope you feel the same way after first year or so…plus, start saving…i’ll need to borrow cash later 🙂

    3. I perfected the perfect poker face as well as the I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU”RE TALKING ABOUT look…so now the thing is…my family isn’t sure when i’m putting on a face and when am dead serious!!…my advice leave the looks for the office!!!

    4. I simply don’t understand how anyone survives in that unbearable hot stuffy slow ..etc place…i simply don’t understand!!

  2. V says:

    I still don’t believe your mum is a sports fanatic…nhu…
    1. I knw…w@z up with smokers…it doesn’t taste nice…plus your lungs are on fire…i gave up the argument while trying to make people quit…now that you’re a LAWYER!!!..you’ll find that everyone you meet will be a smoker esp in the co-operate world..been there and i think i need to get my lung checked for lung-smoke related diseases!!!

    2. You have no idea how happy i am you’re doing law..lets just hope you feel the same way after first year or so…plus, start saving…i’ll need to borrow cash later 🙂 You’ll be my new bank…i know this won’t last long soon enough..it’ll come back to me…but i am still virtually handing over the mantle to you…THE NGUTI TRUST FUND…it actually has a nice ring to it…you should consider starting a bank..#justathought#

    3. I perfected the perfect poker face as well as the I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU”RE TALKING ABOUT look…so now the thing is…my family isn’t sure when i’m putting on a face and when am dead serious!!…my advice leave the looks for the office!!!

    4. I simply don’t understand how anyone survives in that unbearable hot stuffy slow ..etc place…i simply don’t understand!!

    #as you can tell i had a lot to write…thats cz am high!!!..on cereal…i should stop putting sugar in my cereal!#

    • 1. U get used to mum
      2. You know, at first I thot it was my imagination that he smelt of smoke. At least he goes inje to do it.
      .3. The Nguti Trust fund already exists ….it started a couple of years back..its kind of a chama

  3. Chase Urrea says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to seek out any individual with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  4. Olive says:

    Does that mean you’re abandonin the “take coffee while reading idea”?

Leave a Reply

