Portrait

Babygirl,

Come. Look in the mirror. What do you see? An old woman well beyond her prime and a young girl waiting for hers, is it? Look closer darling.There’s more to the picture, much,much more.

Look at my hair;

 There was a time it was long , black and lustrous.But stubborn indeed! We didn’t have the option of relaxing it in my day. No.I had to employ the use of a scarf to make it manageable. And Thank God for that, dear angel, for it was the day i wore a green scarf that i happened to meet your grandfather. Green was his favourite colour and soon after, i was his favourite girl. Now it has lost its spunk, streaked with grey it shows my age, doesn’t it? Perfect!

Look at my eyes;

They were just like yours: wide with innocence, curious to the world’s end and sparkling with joy. I lost that sparkle but you shouldn’t. Hold on to it, dearest, for when life gets tough, and i assure you it will, it might be the only thing that keeps you sane. Always laugh! Find joy for sorrow will find you. My eyes have dimmed over the years as sorrow after sorrow claimed my soul. My eyes, no longer innocent, have seen the evil of the world and gained wisdom through pain. My eyes crinkle with sadness, they crinkle with joy. It all lies in the balance.

Look at my lips;

 These lips have brandished a smile that would have brought any hot-blooded man to his knees. They still do! My lips have embraced the new life of a baby. My lips have kissed the lips of my one true love. None other than he. From my lips  have words been spoken to build my children, to soothe, to express my emotions, to change the world.

Look at my hands;

 They have toiled to give my family joy. With them,I wiped the sweat off my forehead. With them, i shielded my own mother from abuse and wiped her wounds clean. With them, i cradled her in my arms like a babe, as i did to your mother and later on to you. I wiped away all you tears. With my hands i embraced, with my hands, i caressed, with my hands, i applauded, with my hands, i gave life.

Look at my beautiful chocolate skin;

What’s not to like about it? It shows my heritage, my rich culture. Do you know the first thing your father ever said to me? ” well, aren’t you just a tall glass of gorgeous chocolate milk?” i didn’t even grace him with a reply and i walked away. Good thing he is so persistent! The only way to wear your skin right is with pride!

Look at my body;

 it has withstood the test of time and trials. Through it i bore your mother and through her, you.

Look at you;

 There is so much to experience, so much to learn. Stay strong, Babygirl. Stay happy. Reach to God. Know yourself. Stand for good. Love to the fullest. Live life.

6 thoughts on “Portrait

  1. Wow!dats gud mwende t meks one thnk ov oneself 2 xana(dats wat m dng)haki ts a gud pc….lykng aint enaf…..kip on,dat was gr8…..

  2. V says:

    This is not you…but it is still,really nice…its a very innocent piece!

  3. Olive says:

    V true on the innocent part.
    Nguti I was wonderin ulizeeka lini n jst some weeks ago ur were a teenager

  4. V, now wat do u mean innocent?! Olive, didn’t i tell u i was turnin 60???

  5. Olive says:

    you must have forgotten to mention it but lets blame ur aged mind now that ur almost 60

  6. Rhodes says:

    Such a nice piece…its so powerful.

Leave a Reply

